Nominees announced for 2017 Maggies

The nominees for the Hamilton Independent Media Awards were announced earlier this week. The awards, also known as The Maggies, are in their fourth year and spotlight independent journalists and independent media outlets in Hamilton.

All journalist nominees are residents of Hamilton who have created work for Hamilton’s independent media. The HIMAs defines independent media as any online, television, print, or radio source that is locally-owned, based in Hamilton, and not the subsidiary of a multi-city media consortium. All media outlet nominees are locally-owned and based in Hamilton.

Another criteria for nominees specifies that the media outlet must regularly produce news, analysis and commentary. It cannot be a one-off production or publication. All nominations are verified by the board of the HIMAs to ensure that the nominee is eligible, and that they are aware of the nomination.

I’m honoured to be among the nominees this year for a piece I wrote earlier in the year on Hamilton Today about the Limeridge Mall Transit Terminal being redeveloped. My nomination comes in the Politics category. the other nominees in the politics category include Joey Coleman (The Public Record), Rachel Connell (Morning File – 93.3 FM CFMU), Brendan Stone (Unusual Sources – 93.3 FM CFMU), and Sarah V. Wayland (Raise The Hammer).

The nominees for the 2017 Maggie Awards are as follows:

•The Anvil
•Hamilton Review of Books
•North End Breezes
•The Inlet
•The Point
•The Silhouette

•Kristin Archer (I Heart Hamilton)
•Anne Bokma (Year Of Living Spiritually Blog)
•Allison Jones (View Magazine)
•Tamara Kamermans (View Magazine)
•Doreen Nicoll (Raise The Hammer)

•Michael Nabert (Sustainability The Musical Blog)
•Emily O’Rourke (The Silhouette)
•Timothy R. Trebilcock (Raise The Hammer)

•Joey Coleman (The Public Record)
•Rachel Connell (Morning File – 93.3 FM CFMU)
•Jason Nason (Hamilton Today)
•Brendan Stone (Unusual Sources – 93.3 FM CFMU)
•Sarah V. Wayland (Raise The Hammer)

•Daniel Duvnjake (Ignite News Magazine)
•Scott Neigh (Talking Radical Radio – 93.3 FM CFMU)
•Mela Pothier (Bent Q: Hamilton’s LGBTQ2SI+ Media & Community Hub)
•Ken Stone (Hamilton Coalition to Stop the War)
•Michael Terry (View Magazine)

BEST JOURNALIST – THE NEXT GENERATION *New Category* [25 years of age or younger]
•Rachel Katz (The Silhouette)
•Shane Madill (The Silhouette)
•Taylor Pipe (The Anvil)

•David Ritchie and Jeremy Cohn

The Maggies were named in honour of Maggie Hughes who was a well-known Hamilton independent journalist who produced and hosted a weekly radio show on CFMU called The Other Side. Maggie was a fixture in the Hamilton activist community, and an advocate for peace, social justice, the environment, and the rights of workers, women, First Nations, and the disabled. Maggie passed away on November 4, 2012, after a long battle with multiple sclerosis.

Online voting has opened at and runs thru Wednesday, November 8th, 2017. The winners of The 2017 Maggies will be announced on November 15th at the awards ceremony which will be held at the Central branch of the Hamilton Public Library. The ceremony takes place at 6:00 PM.

About Jason Nason 1986 Articles
I'm the editor of and I love the city of Hamilton. From sports to entertainment, local events and the politics of the city, I will try to bring it here to you!

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.