Canadian Elite Basketball League Announces 2021 Regular Season Schedule

The CEBL unveiled its 2021 regular season schedule Thursday, a 14-game slate reduced from the standard 20 games per team and pushed back from a mid-May start to June 5 to accommodate the possibility of fans being able to attend games in person this summer in the league’s seven cities.

“Prioritizing the health and safety of our fans, players, staff, and officials is where we began in creating our league schedule for 2021,” said Mike Morreale, commissioner and chief executive officer of the CEBL. “All of our games will be broadcast across Canada and around the world, but we recognize that attending live events in a safe manner plays a critical role in revitalizing our communities as they begin to emerge from Covid-19 as 2021 unfolds. It is our hope that by June people in our markets will be able to enjoy our games as they are intended to be experienced, on the edge of their seat watching some of Canada’s best pro players and being entertained by NBA caliber DJ’s and halftime performers.”

CBC Sports is the premier media partner of the CEBL and will broadcast seven of the league’s 49 regular season games on CBC, including the season-opening showdown between the 2020 CEBL champion Edmonton Stingers and the team they defeated in last summer’s title game, the Fraser Valley Bandits, on Saturday, June 5 at 4 p.m. Eastern time. That matchup will be the first of seven consecutive Saturday afternoon broadcasts across Canada. Each of the CEBL’s seven clubs will appear on CBC, with Edmonton leading the way with four appearances.

Regular season games will also be live streamed on the free CBC Gem streaming service, cbcsports.ca, and the CBC Sports app for iOS and Android devices.

Sat June 5 | 7pm – Ottawa at Hamilton

Tuesday June 8 | 7pm – Hamilton at Guelph

Thursday June 10 | 7pm – Niagara at Hamilton

Sunday June 13 | 2pm – Hamilton at Niagara

Wednesday June 16 | 7pm – Guelph at Hamilton

Saturday June 26 | 4pm – Hamilton at Edmonton

Monday June 28 | 7:30pm – Saskatchewan at Hamilton

Thursday July 1 | 2pm – Hamilton at Ottawa

Saturday July 3 | 4pm – Guelph at Hamilton

Friday July 9 | 7pm – Hamilton at Guelph

Thursday July 15 | 7pm – Edmonton at Hamilton

Friday July 23 | 7pm – Fraser Valley at Hamilton

Tuesday August 3 – 7pm – Hamilton at Niagara

Friday August 6 | 7pm – Niagara at Hamilton

About Jason Nason 2423 Articles
I'm the editor of Hamilton-Today.com and I love the city of Hamilton. From sports to entertainment, local events and the politics of the city, I will try to bring it here to you!

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

*