CPL announces ‘The Island Games’ tournament style season for August in PEI

Today, the Canadian Premier League, together with its Owners, Clubs and Player leadership, announced Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island as the location for the CPL 2020 season.

The made for TV event – The Island Games – will commence on Thursday, August 13th with a rematch of the 2019 season finalists Forge FC vs Cavalry FC and will conclude in September.

The full schedule will be announced in the near future.

All games will be played to closed doors in a sequestered environment in Charlottetown. All matches from The Island Games will take place at Alumni Field on the campus of the University of Prince Edward Island, which was one of the venues that hosted events during the 2009 Canada Summer Games. Alumni Field features a FIFA-certified artificial turf field and was resurfaced in August 2016.

All matches will be broadcast exclusively via the Canadian Premier League’s media partner OneSoccer.

The CPL and the Province of Prince Edward Island have been working tirelessly with the Owners, Players, Government of Canada, City of Charlottetown, and other partners to finalize the details on a location that would include the mandated public health protocols and measures that will govern the season.

“We are excited about The Island Games / Canadian Premier League 2020 season and the level of support from the Government of PEI, and City of Charlottetown who have been at the forefront of all our planning with our priority being that every participant and PEI citizens will be safe,” said Canadian Premier League Commissioner, David Clanachan. “We are appreciative of all their hard work and their enduring support in making our season a reality.”

The Island Games will serve as the CPL’s 2020 regular season, with the winner crowned league champions and awarded the North Star Shield. The winner of The Island Games will also qualify for the 2021 Concacaf League.


The format of The Island Games breaks down like this:

  • An opening group stage (28 games) where every team will play each other once. The top four teams advance to a second round-robin group.
  • A second group stage (six games) where every team will play each other once. The top two teams advance to the finals.
  • A winner-take-all, one-match finale with the North Star Shield at stake.

Source: Canadian Premier League

About Jason Nason 2248 Articles
I'm the editor of Hamilton-Today.com and I love the city of Hamilton. From sports to entertainment, local events and the politics of the city, I will try to bring it here to you!

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.