GHAC Day 1 produces qualifying performances

Photo by Gerry Graham/HWCDSB

By Larry Moko

Two of Hamilton’s top high school javelin throwers are adjusting well to their new temporary practice facilities.

Maddie Carrigan and Daniel Tibay, both seniors at Bishop Tonnos Catholic Secondary School, qualified for next week’s OFSAA South Regional track and field championships with their performances during Day 1 of the Golden Horseshoe Athletic Conference meet at Mohawk Sports Park Tuesday.

The top five finishers from each event advance to South Regionals in St. Catharines.

Tonnos coach Sara Sardo she is “really impressed” with her athletes who have been training this spring at St. Thomas More Catholic Secondary School due to construction of new outdoor playing surfaces at Tonnos.

Carrigan, who captured an OFSAA silver medal in senior girls’ javelin last June, won her GHAC competition this year with a toss of 37.73 metres. She also placed 15th at the 2016 provincial high school finals in the shot put and will try to qualify in that event on Day 2 of GHAC.

As for Tibay, he finished a close second in the boys’ javelin with a throw of 41.01m. In addition, the versatile Tibay came third in the 110m hurdles (17.99 seconds). And his GHAC 400m hurdles is still to come.

“It’s a personal best,” Tibay said of his opening day throw. “I’m really happy. Javelin is one of my favourite field events.”

Carrigan says she enjoys the workouts in shot put and javelin – under the guidance of Helen Downey – at nearby St. Thomas More.

“Last year we didn’t have a place to throw javelin or shot,” Carrigan said. “This year we have a real shot put circle for practice and a runway to throw javelin. It makes it a lot easier to count your steps and that kind of thing.”

A Hamilton-Wentworth Catholic Athletic Association all-star in volleyball, Carrigan says she prefers javelin over shot put because the throwing motion in javelin is similar to a volleyball smash.

“I’m pretty happy,” Carrigan said of her second-straight first-place finish in javelin this season. “Last year at OFSAA I threw 39.60m. I’m still a little under that, but I’m hoping to go higher at the next meet. I’m also hoping to medal at OFSAA again.”

In other action, Alex Broekhuyse of St. Thomas More scored an impressive victory in the senior boys’ 1500m. He put together a strong finishing kick to overtake the outstanding duo of Liam Donnelly (St. Mary) and David Poloni (Frank Hayden). Broekhuyse moved up from third place to finish in 4 minutes, 4.97 seconds.

“I had a personal best time in this race,” Broekhuyse said. “I hadn’t won this in the last couple of years, so to win again in my senior year feels great. They (the second and third-place finishers) are both very talented runners. We’ve known each other for a long time and it always makes for a good race against them.”

Against the competition from Halton schools, other first-place finishers from the HWCAA were: Rachel Watson, St. Mary, midget girls’ 80m hurdles (13:48); Ranya Belkhir, More, midget girls’ high jump (1.20m); Logan Garvey, Brebeuf, midget girls’ javelin (22.40m); Madison Shakeshaft, Brebeuf, junior girls’ 400m, (1:01.24); Abbey Maillet, St. Mary, junior girls’ 1500m (5:07.38); Madison Shakeshaft, Brebeuf, junior girls’ 80m hurdles (12.59); Nia Ebos, St. Mary, junior girls’ long jump (4.10m); Kinsley Bozzo, Brebeuf, junior girls’ javelin (27.44m); Molly Giannone, St. Mary, senior girls’ 100m hurdles (15.93); Molly Giannone, St. Mary, senior girls’ long jump (4.68m); Maria Tirmazi, Bishop Ryan, girls’ 100m ambulatory (22.97); Brandon Comegna, More, midget boys’ 100m (11.81); Daniel McLymont, More, midget boys’ 100m hurdles (16.81); Josh Popowich, St. Mary, midget boys’ javelin (35.61m); Vincent Irobun, More, senior boys’ 100m (11.44); Stephen Krebs, More, senior boys’ 110m hurdles (15.14); Connor Vandergeer, St. Mary, senior boys’ long jump (6.06m); Matthew Saddler, Bishop Ryan, boys’ 100m ambulatory (16.51); Bosko Glusica, Bishop Ryan, boys’ 100m ID (15.25).

Other athletes from the HWCAA who qualified for South Regionals were: Rachel Watson, Ann Koll-Andrikopoulos, Tessa O’Brien, Ben Stock, St. Mary; Rachel Moulton, Adriana Scime, Mya D’Arrigo, Christina Demerjian, Chyann Martin, Lena Bungic, Tyrese Greene, Daniel Graham, Keith Wejuli, Alexander Hnatjuk, Brebeuf; Deanna Mataseje, Tessa Marras, Rachel Chiara, Claire Notarandrea, Timothy Manuel, Aidan Leet, Daniel Parchem, Tonnos; Julia Surodzli, Devon Smith, Cardinal Newman; Charlotte Mills, Shae-lyn Shepherd, Titus Brown, Cathedral; Emma Russell, Victoria Pancucci, Sebastian Massotti, Mackenzie Leach, Ryan Sorley, Michele Pugliese, Ben Houston, David Velasquez, Bishop Ryan; Melissa Grant, Marissa Restivo, Mehraz Karim, Darius Bell, Joey Fucciarelli, Usifo Ikechukwo, Michael Morosin, Andrew Glanville, Owen Jarvis, Marc Timperio, More.

Photo by Gerry Graham/HWCDSB

Photo by Gerry Graham/HWCDSB

Source: Marnie Jadon

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.