Marauder Men Win Second Consecutive Meet at Windsor Open

It was a different race but the same result for Blair Morgan and the Marauders on Saturday, as the McMaster men won the team title at the Windsor Open to remain undefeated in 2014.

Morgan was McMaster’s leading scorer once again, crossing the line second in the men’s eight-kilometre event but scoring first, as winner Nick Falk is an over-ager formerly of the Windsor Lancers.

Second-year Paul Rochus was the second scorer for the victorious Marauders, placing sixth and scoring fifth. Paul Kolb (7th), Derek van Schepen (8th), Nick Kondrat (12th), Keaton Smee (14th) and Ivan Meiszinger (15th) completed the scoring for the Marauders.

The promising start to Maddy McDonald’s season continued on the women’s side, as McMaster’s star finished second on Saturday behind CIS First Team All-Canadian Amanda Truelove of Western.

A strong pack run by a group of Marauders, led by rookie Erin Mawhinney, sealed the team silver for their team. Maddy Benjamin (8th), Gabrielle Foran (9th) and Phoebe Cseresnyes (11th) rounded out that group, while rookies Lauren Locco and Maxine Gravina finished 20th and 25th respectively, scoring 15th and 18th.

Marauder head coach Rory Sneyd singled out his young group of first and second-year men for praise, as they made up the bulk of McMaster’s winning delegation in Windsor.

A small contingent of Marauder runners will continue their season in Waterloo on Saturday, October 4, while the majority of the team will regroup a week later to compete in Kingston.

Source: Fraser Caldwell

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.